This is the "Home" page of the "Latin American History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American History  

This guide was created for Dr. Cowan's HIS123 class to assist with researching the different cultures of Latin American countries and how race has effected all facets of Latin American society including politics, religion, gender, and economics.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.sunyorange.edu/HIS123C Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Objective

Your objective is to research the culture of a Latin American country and discuss how race effects all facets of Latin American society, including politics, religion, gender, and economics.

Databases

 Suggested Search Terms 

Latin America and race

Latin America and culture

Bolivia and race

[your chosen country] and a subtopic covered in your class readings/lessons

  • Britannica Academic Edition
    This basic encyclopedia is a great starting point to familiarize yourself with the issues of your chosen country. Simply enter the name of your country into the search box and choose the first entry. This entry will be a more detailed overview than you might find in Virtual Reference Library. Read and/or print the entry to get a good general overview of your topic.
  • Virtual Reference Library
    This database gives electronic access to a ton of specialized reference books/encyclopedias. You will find detailed overviews of your chosen country with information on geography, religion, history and politics. You can print, email, and cite your sources by using the databases tools.
  • MasterFILE Premier
    This is an excellent multi-disciplinary databases covering all sorts of topics. Using this database should give you the more specific information that goes beyond the overviews you found in Britannica and Virtual Ref Library.
  • CountryWatch
    Information on countries around the world, including newswire articles and comprehensive demographic, political, economic, social, corporate, cultural, and environmental reports.
  • Proquest Social Science Journals
    This is a sociology database, and so it will give you articles that discuss various issues that affect Latin American society.

Websites

Remember...You must also use other sources of information including books and journal articles.
Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress:
arranged by country, lots of well organized information
 
Historical Text Archive: tons of links to Latin American

articles arranged by country

 

Latin American Post- current news

 
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC),
links are in Spanish but website can be changed to English

 

Citing Part of Website using MLA:

Author last name first. "Title of the Page." Title of the Website. Sponsor of the Site, year updated or created. Medium. date you went to the site day month year.

Example using this webpage 

http://historicaltextarchive.com/sections.php?action=read&artid=530 :

Mabry, Donald J. "Brazilian Slavery and Emancipation." Historical Text Archive.Donald J. Mabry/Historical Text Archive, 2011. Web. 5 Sept. 2012. 

 

Database Searching Tips

Searching Tips 

  • Always select "full text" and keep your search terms simple. 
  • Do NOT rely on the title to determine if an article will work for your research. Click on the article titles and read the abstracts to find relevant articles.
  • Some article titles are in Spanish but the actual article is in English.
  • Read the abstract and click on pdf or html on the side of the screen to view the article.
  • When you want to print a pdf of the article, use the print tool deepest in the database. Sometimes you have to "hover" your cursor over the bottom of the article to get the print menu icon to show. 
 

Books

See the search box above? You can use this box to see what books we have here at Newburgh and in Middletown.

Type "Latin America" in the search box and see what you find. 

You might also want to try searching for the Latin American country of your choice. Try Cuba, Argentina, Bolivia, etc.

Can't find a book?

You can also check books out at Newburgh Free Library and Mount Saint Mary College's Curtin Memorial Library

Search their library catalogs at:

Newburgh Free Library

http://rcls.ent.sirsi.net/client/newburgh/

Curtin Memorial Library

http://library.msmc.edu/

Having difficulty finding or getting a book? Please come see me or another librarian in the library!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip