This is the "Getting Started" page of the "COM 101 Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COM 101 Research Guide   Tags: communications speech  

Learn how to find, evaluate and cite sources for your presentations.
Last Updated: Jan 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sunyorange.edu/COM_101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

To find sources for your presentation, consult:

Books

Databases

Websites

Library Databases

Search for articles, images and more in Library Databases

  • ONESearch
    Search for books, articles and more. ONESearch searches all of the library databases.
  • CQ Researcher
    Search for current or controversial topics. Learn about various sides of an issue to prepare for an argumentative speech, or to prepare for a debate.
  • Virtual Reference Library via Gale
    Search a multidisciplinary collection of e-books, including encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference resources
  • New York Times
    Search for current and past articles in this premier national newspaper.
  • Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost
    A multidisciplinary database containing articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals. Also contains images.
 

What's a Source Worth?

In this clip from the film All the President's Men, two newspaper reporters are about to publish an article accusing the then chief of staff, H.R. Haldeman, of committing crimes from within the White House.  The executive editor wants to make absolutely sure that the reporters' sources are reliable and trustworthy.  The reputation of his newspaper, the Washington Post, is at stake.  He's not sure he can publish the article. The city editor makes a suggestion to the reporters.  What does he suggest?  (Hint: It's the last line in the clip!) 

All the President's Men. Dir. Alan J. Pakula. Warner Bros., 1976. YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tdoYOquNrM&feature=youtu.be/p> Web. 19 Feb. 2014

Ask a Librarian

Is librarian offline? Send email to: library@sunyorange.edu
Contact Info
Phone: (845) 341-4258
Email:nancy.murillo@sunyorange.edu
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip