NUR 205
Pubmed ArticlesMedlinePlusDrugs and Supplements
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Using the library for Nursing Students
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sunyorange.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Nursing Features in the Library

You can find many resources to help you graduate.

Studying:

  • Check out a reserve text book to use in the library. Ask for them at the front desk.
  • Use the library's computers to access the PDS and Nursing Scenarios software.
  • Gather with fellow nursing students to study in groups.

Research:

  • Use the library's databases to find the latest articles from important nursing journals.
  • Print journals for nursing topics are available in the library's Bound Room.
  • The nursing book collection receives new additions each year. Borrow these books for four (4) weeks to read when it is convenient for you.
     

    Nursing Book Searches

    Click the links to see what is in the library's books for that topic. Note these searches will display books in Newburgh AND Middletown.

    Nursing Ethics

    Emergency Nursing

     

    Nursing Reference Books

    Reference books may not be checked out which means that the book is somewhere in the library. Start with the collection on the first floor on the shelves next to the Information Commons.

    STAT!Ref electronic book collection
    STAT!Ref is a collection of electronic reference books for Nursing education. The books are available off or on campus. There are also videos, dictionaries, handbooks, textbooks and other valuable resources.

    Stedman's Medical Dictionary 28th Edition - Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
    Call Number: Middletown & Newburgh Ready Reference 610.3 ST31M 2006
    ISBN: 020533511X
    This dictionary covers all the important terms you need to know. It is especially useful when reading journal articles. Three illustrated sections cover anatomy, diagnostic techniques and color images of medical conditions.

    Gray's Anatomy - Editor in Chief Susan Standring
    Call Number: Middletown & Newburgh READY REF 611 G792a 2005
    ISBN: 0443071683
    This classic Anatomical reference has over 1500 pages of illustrations and descriptions for every part of the body.

    Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference 24th Edition - Edited by Linda Skitmore Roth
    Call Number: Middletown & Newburgh READY REF 615 Sk32m 2011
    ISBN: 9780323069182

    Mosby's Review Questions for the NCLEX-RN - Saxton, Pelikan, Nugent, Green
    Call Number: Middletown Ready Ref 610.73 Sa98m
    Get ready for the NCLEX test in the library.

    Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual - Sheila Sparks Ralph & Cynthia M. Taylor
    Call Number: Newburgh Reference 616.075 R139n
    ISBN: 9780781771788
    Authoritative care plans for every NANDA-approved nursing diagnosis, to meet the needs of patients across the lifespan. This edition includes fourteen new NANDA diagnoses. Care plans are organized by life stage, as well as by type of care, such as community-based health care and psychiatric/mental health care.

     

    Nursing Books you can check out

    The library constantly adds new books to the nursing collection. Take a look at the newest books in the Newburgh and Middletown libraries. You can check out these books for 28 days and renew them if you need extra time. If you aren't in the library the book is in you can go to that library and check it out with your student ID. The books can also be sent via interlibrary loan through the ILLiad system.

    The picture below is a sample search of the library's book catalog. 

    Book catalog list
    The Call Number column is where the location of the book is identified. Check here for the campus library the book is in and the exact call number on the shelf the book can be found. If the call number has REF it is part of the Reference Collection and the book must stay in the library. The first and third books on this list are in the Middletown Library, the second in Newburgh. The Copies Owned/Out is where to look for if the book is available if the last number 0 (zero) the book is available. 

    Google Books Preview exampleIs your book is checked out or not where you are? The catalog links to Google Books where there is a picture of the book's cover. If your book looks like it has a corner turned at the bottom right, you can read pages that the publisher selected for viewing.

     

     

    Andrew Heiz, Electronic Services Librarian

    Profile Image
    Andrew Heiz
    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
    Contact Info
    andrew.heiz@sunyorange.edu
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip