Graff 102ENG102 Honors
Graff RDG 070Graff RDG 080RSS 080 GonzalezRDG 070/080 VecchioRDG 070 Ms. Morsch
Scully Fall 2012
This is the "ENG 102" page of the "English Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Resources  

Find books, articles and more for research papers.
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sunyorange.edu/English Print Guide RSS Updates

ENG 102 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search for Books

Search for books by or about authors and their works.

 

Reference Books

Books for use in the library, or for general background information:

Cover Art
Literature and Its Times
Call Number: READY REF 809.9335 M855L
Located on the first floor of the library. For library use only.

Cover Art
American Decades - Tompkins, Vincent
Call Number: READY REF 909.8202 L454a
Overview of American history through the decades of the 20th century. Also available online.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
Call Number: READY REF 975.003 W692e
ISBN: 0807818232
Information on Southern authors and culture.

Cover Art
Short Story Criticism
Call Number: READY REF 809.04 G131w
Located on the first floor of the library. For library use only. Search the cumulative index for story title to find the corresponding volume.

Cover Art
Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication - Warren S. Walker (Compiled by)
Call Number: READY REF 016.8093 W154T
ISBN: 0208015701
Publication Date: 1977-07-01
Guide to literary criticism in books and journals not necessarily indexed in Artemis.

 

Resources on Marriage in the 1800s

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a reliable library database with some useful electronic book chapters:

Women in the 19th Century from Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion

Links below take you to sites with useful search terms. The library recomends that you use these pages to identify search terms to use in the library's databaes.

Library Databases

Search databases for articles on the work and/or the author. To access library databases from off-campus, enter your student ID # and password. 

  • ARTEMIS Literary Sources  Icon
    Full text access to literature criticism, author biographies, and work overviews for researching literature settings, symbolism and more. Covers 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
  • eBook Search
    Search eBooks for an author or story.
  • JSTOR
    Scholarly research articles, essays and book reviews covering history, arts, literature and other humanities.
  • Humanities Source
    Comprehensive coverage of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar is a subset of Google that includes links to scholarly journal articles, book chapters and more. Some items are available for free. If you cannot find the full text of an article or a book, ask a librarian.
  • LitFinder
    Contains a wealth of literary works including short stories. Also includes secondary materials like biographies.
  • Virtual Reference Library
    Brief articles from reference books covering a variety of subjects. Search for general, background information on a broad topic.
  • Academic Search Complete
    References to articles, many full-text, covering multiple disciplines. Search for author interviews or background information on a topic.
  • America: History and Life
    Articles in journals covering U.S. and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present.

More Reference Books

Literary Setting

READY REF 809.894 J139e European Writers

READY REF 810.9 P192 American Writers

READY REF 810.9 R728h The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond

READY REF 810.9897 W617n Native American Literatures

READY REF 810.9895 T765a Asian American Literature

READY REF 820.9 Sco86b British Writers

READY REF 880.09 L962a Ancient Writers:  Greece and Rome


Historical Setting

READY REF 390 Sa34g The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life  a tour through history from ancient times to the present

READY REF 902.02 G923t The Timetables of History

READY REF 909.82 D758t The Twentieth Century

READY REF 909.8202 L454a American Decades

READY REF 940.1 C144 Cambridge Medieval History

READY REF 940.1 C145 Cambridge Modern History

READY REF 973.03 G191r Reader’s Companion to Modern American History

READY REF 973.0496 L95e Encyclopedia of Black America

READY REF 975.003 W692e Encyclopedia of Southern Culture

      

    Ask a Librarian

    Chat With a Librarian

    Andrew Heiz, Electronic Services Librarian

    Profile Image
    Andrew Heiz
    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
    Contact Info
    andrew.heiz@sunyorange.edu
    Send Email

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Debbie Canzano
    Contact Info
    debbie.canzano@sunyorange.edu
    Kaplan Room 140
    845-341-9542
    Text a librarian 845-262-2542
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip